Nilgiri Library - Ooty Tourist spotMuseum 9:30 am to 5:30 pm Nil 1 Tips
Timing : Tue-Sun : 9:30 am to 5:30 pm, Mon : Not open
Membership Fees : Rs 20,000(Life time), Rs 1,800 (for one year)
Camera Fees : No
Things to do : Reading Books
The Nilgiri Library
On 28th August 1867, the foundation stone of the main building was laid by Hon. Mr A.J. Arbuthnot, then the Chief Secretary to the Madras Presidency. A religious ceremony was conducted by Rev. Dr G.U. Pope. A parchment in the name of the "Holy Trinity" was placed under the stonework. The Nilgiri Library which was opened earlier in 1859, was shifted to the present premises when the building was completed. The additional reading room which was also known as "silent room", the upper storey and ladies cloak room were sanctioned in 1897 and completed in 1899. The site on which the library stands once housed the Jail and Post Office. Registered as an Association in 1878, The Nilgiri Library has one of the largest reading rooms and many rare books in its collection. Built of brick, and lime mortar with arched windows, the building is a gem of Victorian architecture. Set in sylvan surroundings, The Nilgiri Library is an oasis for members and book lovers from all walks of life.